Top Ten Horror Flicks 2021 and More.

I’m sorry that I’m so late in posting this. Being busy is a drag at times. However, I was VERY busy during October and I did 31 reviews and an unboxing. Excuses, excuses! 

Just looking at the lists for “Best” horror films of 2021 tells me that I had barely scratched the surface on the films released last year. Of course, I say this just about every year; I cannot get to all the horror that came out in any given year. However, this is still a top ten my favorites in horror cinema that I did catch.

Moreover, it should be noted that there are films on other lists that I do not consider horror that I did enjoy. Till Death is one of them. I enjoyed the hell out of this film. However, it is clearly a suspense thriller. Army of the Dead may have zombies all over the place. It is still just an action picture. An excellent action picture to be honest. But, just an action picture.

Then there is the dreck that I sat through: Bad Candy, the Wrong Turn remake, Spiral: the Book of Saw, The Reckoning, and The Unholy. I could not even sit through, Old.

I’m just going to do a list with the pictures below. I do want to note that it was good to see at least two of these films brought some much needed levity to the horror line up.

In order and in descending order.

10. The Night House

9. Howling Village

8. Don’t Breathe 2

7. The Boy Behind the Door

6. Psycho Goreman

5. The Vigil

4. Titane

3. Werewolves Within

2. Jakob’s Wife

  1. Antlers

Honorable Mentions: Separation, Halloween Kills,The Djinn, Blood Red Sky, Last Night in Soho.

And we all know what my pick for best superhero film is so I’ll put that aside this time out. I’m still going to recommend an action film. I LOVE Copshop and every chance I get I’ll bring it up. Check it out!

For fantasy film last year, Encanto was wonderful. Great story. I liked all of the songs. That never happens much anymore.

Well, this is hoping for a better year in 2022!–Charles T. Cochran

Leave a comment