Favorite Horror Films 2020

Goodbye, so long, good riddance to 2020. With all the other stuff screwing up everybody’s lives, I was legally blind in my right eye for most of the year due to a diabetic induced cataract. Surgery was pushed back due to Covid-19. However, my surgery did happen and I’m seeing a lot better. 

On to the main topic. Movies. Horror movies to be exact.

Much like last year I have to state that there are far too many of these films released each year  for me to see them all. So, this is a list of favorites of the ones I’ve been able to see in 2020. This year made it hard for me to have a clear view of things; such as, being cognizant of what I was seeing and their place in my mind. This was true, until I began to think about what my favorites could be for 2020. Things took form and I easily was able to put together a solid top ten list. A couple films on the list I was lucky enough to catch in the last week of the year. 

Aside from maybe the first three films, the remaining list does not have an order. And, I’m feeling a little lazy, so this is just a list. 

Side note: no matter what people tell you, both Come To Daddy and Swallow are not horror films. Great stuff, to be sure. However, not horror.

Color Out of Space

The Lodge

Hunter Hunter

The Dark and the Wicked

Host

The Invisible Man

Virarium

Blood Quantum

Freaky

Scare Package

Honorable mentions: Teacher Shortage, The Pale Door, Spiral, Possessor: Uncut, The Shed

I’m going to forego my usual habit of picking a fantasy, superhero, or science fiction film here. The list above will have to do.

Happy New Year!!!

–Charles T. Cochran

Leave a comment